NTTC Notice of Vacancy on the Council

Notice of Vacancy on North Tawton Town Council

Dr Peter Brickley has resigned from his role as Councillor for North Tawton Town Council, so there is now a vacancy on the Council.  The formal Notice of Vacancy is as below.  Please note that this notice has to follow this very specific wording, and we have notified West Devon Borough Council in accordance with the relevant requirements.  A copy of this Notice also appears on the NTTC Noticeboard at 14a The Square, North Tawton.



There is one vacancy on North Tawton Town Council.

A by-election to fill the vacancies will be held if within 14 days of the date of this Notice (excluding Saturdays, Sundays, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year’s Day and Bank Holidays) ten electors from the Town give notice in writing to the Returning Officer requiring that such an election be held.

Where ten valid requests for a by-election are received by the Proper Officer then under the provisions of the Coronavirus Act 2020 and The Local Government and Police and Crime Commissioner (Coronavirus)(Postponement of Elections and Referendums)(England and Wales) Regulations 2020 the by-election will not currently take place, and the vacancy will be held open until the by-election takes place. The 2020 regulations provide for the by-election to take place on the date for the Ordinary Election of Councillors due to be held on Thursday 6 May 2021. However, this date may be brought forward or deferred by the Government depending upon the circumstances. Any Election that is in due course called will be duly publicised as required by law.

The address of the Returning Officer is West Devon Borough Council, Kilworthy Park, Drake Road, Tavistock, Devon PL19 0BZ. A request for an election can also be scanned and emailed to , but the document must contain “wet ink” signatures.

If no such notice is given, the Town Council will fill the vacancies through co-option.

For further information please contact the Clerk to the Town Council.

Dated: 8 October 2020


Sarah Say

Sarah Say, Clerk to North Tawton Town Council